Lynn G.a.r. Memorial Building lYNN, MA
Built in 1885 as a fraternal club and social services facility for veterans of the Civil War, the Grand Army of the Republic Memorial Building was taken over by the City of Lynn in 1920. Listed on the National Register of Historic Places, the building has operated as a museum and library for almost a century. Its magnificent Fellowship Hall, lined with over 1,200 framed photographs of the Post’s members, is a unique portrait gallery of 19th century Lynn.
The ornamented facade of this Romanesque Revival building features brownstone elements as well as shaped brickwork. The masonry envelope has sustained water damage over the years that has threatened the integrity of the elegantly finished interior and the invaluable collection of Civil War artifacts it houses. A decade ago the City embarked on a phased construction project to restore the integrity of the envelope and reinstate the original storefront based on forensic investigation and historic photographic documentation. In spite of the City’s commitment, funding has not kept up with the building’s needs. In 2018 our firm helped add the building to the Preservation Massachusetts Most Endangered List in order to raise awareness of its threatened status and support fundraising efforts.